Central Highlands Council

Central Highlands Council

Australian Place
Australian Place Less

Central Highlands Council

to get instant updates about 'Central Highlands Council' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Central Highlands Council is a Local Government Area in the central highland region of Tasmania. It is the second largest Local Government Area of Tasmania, after the West Coast, and the least densely populated, with only 0.3 people per square kilometre.

Parks and reserves

It covers most of the mountainous centre of the state, also known as the Central Plateau which contains the Central Plateau Conservation Area including sections of the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area, as well as the Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park, and Walls of Jerusalem National Park. Other smaller reserves of different status occur in the region as well.


The population of the area is small and quite decentralised, resulting in a large number of small towns. Some of these towns were founded as support sites for workers on the hydro-electric dams scattered along the upper Derwent River. Main towns are considered Hamilton (council headquarters) and Bothwell, but the largest town is Tarraleah.

The towns (with population as of 2006):


The municipality is subdivided into eight townships:
  1. Hamilton Township
  2. Ouse Township
  3. Gretna Township
  4. Ellendale Township
  5. Fentonbury Township
  6. Westerway Township
  7. Wayatinah Township
  8. Bothwell......
    Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Australian Place
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from