Chandpur District

Chandpur District

Bangladesh District
Bangladesh District Less

Chandpur District

to get instant updates about 'Chandpur District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Chandpur ()is a district in east-central Bangladesh. It is located at the mouth of the Meghna River. It is a part of the Chittagong Division. The town of Chandpur is terminus of a metre gauge branch of Bangladesh Railways. It also has a water terminal situated here.


Chandpur district has a total area of 1704.06 square kilometers. It is bounded by Munshiganj District and Comilla District on the north, Noakhali District, Lakshmipur District and Barisal District on the south, Comilla District on the east, and Meghna River, Shariatpur District and Munshiganj District on the west.

Chandpur is the confluence the Padma River (the main branch of the Ganges River) and the Meghna River, which meet near Chandpur Town. Important tributaries of the Meghna River flowing through Chandpur are Dakatia River, Dhanagoda River, Matlab River and Udhamdi River.


Chandpur has 6 municipalities, 60 wards, 195 mahallas, 7 upazilas, 1 thana, 87 union parishads and 1226 villages. The municipalities are Chandpur Sadar, Shahrasti, Motlob, Changer Char and Hajiganj. The administrative subdivisions called upazilas are:
  1. Chandpur Sadar Upazila
  2. Faridganj Upazila
  3. Haimchar Upazila
  4. Haziganj Upazila
  5. Kachua Upazila
  6. Matlab Upazila
  7. Shahrasti Upazila

Religious composition(1991)

The district of Chandpur consists
  • 3620 mosques,
  • 128 Hindu temples,
  • 16 Buddhist temples and
  • 03 churches.


Chandpur holds a number of educational institutions such as Schools &...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Bangladesh District
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from