Church of England (Continuing)

Church Of England (Continuing)

Church of England (Continuing)

to get instant updates about 'Church Of England (Continuing)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Church of England (Continuing) is part of the Continuing Anglican Movement. It was founded in England on 10 February 1994 at a meeting chaired by Dr. David N. Samuel held at St. Mary's, Castle Street, Reading, in reaction to the use of Common Worship and to the ordination of women. Unlike the Free Church of England, which also broke from the Church of England, the Church of England (Continuing) holds to the unmodified Thirty-Nine Articles of Religion of the Church of England and to the 1662 Book of Common Prayer which alone is used by its parishes for worship.

Although the CofEC was widely discussed in Anglican circles at the time of its founding, it has not achieved significant growth since that time. The suggestion has been made that one reason for this may be the greater acceptance of vernacular worship and women clergy among younger Christians, many of whom would logically have come to the Church through the evangelical movement.

Four congregations are listed by the CofEC as of 2009
  • St. Mary's, Castle Street, Reading, Berkshire, minister Rev'd Edward J. Malcolm
  • St. John's Church, Colliers Wood, London, minister Rev'd Peter Ratcliff
  • St. Silas Church, Wolverhampton, minister Rt. Rev'd Edward Malcolm
  • Holy Trinity Church, Frinton-on-Sea, minister Mr. Phillip Lievesley
A fifth congregation in Nuffield near Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire meets with Nuffield Parish Church. Two congregation, St. Silas and St. Mary's own their own buildings with the...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from