Church of Uganda

Church Of Uganda

Anglican Church
Anglican Church Less

Church of Uganda

to get instant updates about 'Church Of Uganda' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Church of the Province of Uganda (or Church of Uganda) is a member church of the Anglican Communion. Currently there are thirty-one dioceses that make up the Church of Uganda, each one headed by a Bishop.

Each diocese is divided into Archdeaconries, each headed by a Senior Priest. The Archdeaconries are further subdivided into Parishes, headed by a Parish Priest. Parishes are subdivided into sub-parishes, headed by Lay Readers. As of the 2002 Census, 8,782,821 Ugandans (35.9% of the population) consider themselves affiliated with the Church.

The current Metropolitan Archbishop is the Bishop of Kampala, the Most Reverend Henry Luke Orombi.


The primary source for this section is listed in the 'References section below

Early developments (1877 - 1897)

Shergold Smith and C T Wilson of the Church Missionary Society (CMS) were the first European Anglican missionaries to Uganda when they arrived in June 1877. They along with others who arrived later were based in the court of the Kabaka of Buganda near present day Kampala.

Kabaka Mutesa I was known for his brutality and used the rivalries of the Anglicans, Roman Catholics and Muslims against each other to try to balance the influences of the powers that backed each group. His successor, Kabaka Mwanga II took a more aggressive approach by expelling missionaries and insisting Christian converts abandon their faith on pain of torture or death.

In 1885, three Anglican Ugandans...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Anglican Church
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from