City Districts of Pakistan

City Districts Of Pakistan

City Districts of Pakistan

to get instant updates about 'City Districts Of Pakistan' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

A City District in Pakistan is a district that consists primarily or entirely of a major city or large metropolitan area. While there are 117 Districts, there are only ten City Districts. A city district may contain subdivisions called Towns and Union Councils.


City Districts were introduced in 2000, during the administration of President Pervez Musharraf. Musharraf announced holding of local government elections, which began from December 2000 at the Union Council level and come to a completion with District Council elections in July, 2001. Announcing the programme for devolution of power and responsibility, at Chagai auditorium, he stated that voters’ age would be lowered by three years, from the from 21 years to 18 years, to broaden the voter base and promote greater participation by young people. Elections were held in two stages: first, the Union Council level, commencing in December 2000 in 15 districts, and subsequently in February, March, April and May, with roughly twenty-five districts going to the polls each time. In the second stage, the district assemblies’ elections were held countrywide in July 2001.

Administrative structure

The three-tier system of government in Karachi exemplifies the administrative structure of a City District:
The Karachi City District is a three-tiered system comprising the City District Government (CDG), the Town Municipal Administration (TMA) and the Union Administration (UA). When setting up the City District...... ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from