Comitatus (Kingdom of Hungary)

Comitatus (Kingdom Of Hungary)

Comitatus (Kingdom of Hungary)

to get instant updates about 'Comitatus (Kingdom Of Hungary)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

A comitatus ( or a comitat, in English usually a county; for the various names, their origin and use see here) is the name of an administrative unit in the Kingdom of Hungary and in the Republic of Hungary from the 10th century until 1949 when it was abolished (more precisely: renamed) by the new constitution.

The area of the Kingdom of Hungary also included parts of present-day neighbouring countries of Hungary, i.e.:

The word comitatus is also used for the administrative units (megye) in present-day Hungary (since 1949, when the base of the current constitution of Hungary was created). For those counties see Counties of Hungary. This article only deals with the period before the Treaty of Trianon of 1920.

For lists of the individual counties see Administrative divisions of the Kingdom of Hungary.

Royal counties (late 10th century - late 13th century)


The Magyars settled in the Pannonian Basin in 895, and after 902 they largely took over the system of counties (called ┼żupa) and castle districts used in this territory by Great Moravia. The Hungarian Principality arose after 955 and in the 10th century its territory was restricted to present-day western...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from