Commonwealth Chess Championship

Commonwealth Chess Championship

Commonwealth Chess Championship

to get instant updates about 'Commonwealth Chess Championship' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Commonwealth Chess Championship is a gathering of chess players from Commonwealth countries.


A championship was planned for New Zealand in 1949, but it was canceled because the British Chess Federation was unable to attend.

Oxford 1950

In 1950 an informal all-play-all championship was held as the strongest players of Canada (Daniel Yanofsky), New Zealand (Robert Wade), and South Africa (Wolfgang Heidenfeld) were all in England.The field was rounded out with a player from England, Scotland, and a promising Australian. William Fairhurst (Scotland) won the unofficial championship held in Oxford.

Melbourne 1983

The Commonwealth Chess Association (formed in 1981) planned a 1982 championship in Nigeria, but it was not held. The 1983 Swiss system tournament was held in Melbourne, and won by Ian Rogers and Gregory Hjorth, both of Australia.

Hong Kong 1984

The winners of the 1984 Hong Kong tournament were Kevin Spraggett (Canada) and Murray Chandler (England).

London 1985

The winners of the 1985 London tournament were Praveen Thipsay (India) and Kevin Spraggett.

London 1987

The winner of the 1987 London tournament was Murray Chandler (England). The title was awarded to the highest eligible player in the 11th Lloyds Bank Masters, played at the Park Lane Hotel, London, 22–31 August 1987. Chandler tied for first place on 8/10 with Michael Wilder (USA), who was not eligible for the Commonwealth...... ...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from