Continental Portugal

Continental Portugal

Continental Portugal

to get instant updates about 'Continental Portugal' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Continental Portugal or Mainland Portugal (, ) is the designation of the mainland Portuguese territory, located on Europe's Iberian Peninsula.

The designation is sometimes used to differentiate the continental territory of Portugal (also known as The Continent - O Continente) from the insular territory of Portugal. The latter is composed by the Madeira and Azores archipelagos in the Atlantic Ocean. It is also a NUTS I division (see NUTS for details). While in modern Portugal the difference between continental and total territory is not significant (in terms of area), it mattered during the existence of the Portuguese Empire, when this terminology was used.

The Azores and Madeira archipelagos are also commonly referred to as The Autonomous Regions (As Regiões Autónomas), Insular Portugal (Portugal Insular) or simply The Islands (As Ilhas).

Mainland Portugal has 89,015 km² or 96.6% of the national territory of 92,145 km² and 10,041,813 inhabitants or 95.1% of the total population of 10,555,853.

See also

Pertual Cuntinental
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from