Cornell Prize

to get instant updates about 'Cornell Prize' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Cornell Prize was the major contemporary art prize offered in South Australia and was presented as an exhibition by the Contemporary Art Society of South Australia from 1951 to 1965. It was administered by the Cornell family.

Early winners were:
  • Wladyslaw Dutkiewicz (Summertime, 1951 and Orient, 1955)
  • Douglas Roberts (Connoisseurs, 1952)
  • Ludwik Dutkiewicz (Boats after Storm, 1953 and Green Village 1954)
  • Francis Roy Thompson (Design with Coloured people, 1956)
  • Stanislaw Ostoja-Kotkowski (Form in Landscape, 1957 and Buildings, 1959)
  • Jacqueline Hick (Lost tribe, 1958 and Corridor, 1960)

Other winners, until its demise in 1966, were:
  • Barbara Hanrahan (1961)
  • Udo Sellbach (1962)
  • Geoff Wilson (1963)
  • Franz Kempf (1964)
  • Lynn Collins (1965)

These dates are verified by press clippings and official notifications.

Several of these paintings were acquired subsequently by the Art Gallery of South Australia.

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from