Counties of Northern Ireland

Counties Of Northern Ireland

Counties of Northern Ireland

to get instant updates about 'Counties Of Northern Ireland' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The counties of Northern Ireland were the principal local government divisions of Northern Ireland from its creation in 1921 until 1972 when they were abolished and replaced with twenty-six unitary authorities.

Northern Ireland consists of six counties: Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry, and Tyrone. These form two-thirds of the historical province of Ulster.

According to certain sources, the six-pointed star of the former Government of Northern Ireland flag represents the six counties that make up Northern Ireland.

The counties

Background of the counties

The English administration in Ireland in the years following the Anglo-Norman invasion of Ireland, created counties as the major subdivisions of an Irish province. This process lasted a period from the 13th to 17th centuries, however the number and shape of the counties that would form the future Northern Ireland would not be defined until the Flight of the Earls allowed the shiring of Ulster from 1604.

Though the present-day counties of Northern Ireland were planned in the early 16th century, some had already existed in one form or another beforehand although their boundaries would be adjusted.


The counties...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from