Counts and Dukes of Rethel

Counts And Dukes Of Rethel

Counts and Dukes of Rethel

to get instant updates about 'Counts And Dukes Of Rethel' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

This is a list of counts and dukes of Rethel. The first counts of Rethel ruled independently, before the county passed first to the Counts of Nevers, then to the Counts of Flanders, and finally to the Dukes of Burgundy. In 1405 the County became part of the Peerage of France, and in 1581 it was elevated to a duchy. In 1663 it became the Duchy of Mazarin.

The county was active in the crusades. King Baldwin II of Jerusalem was the brother of Count Gervais and Countess Matilda of Rethel, while Beatrice of Rethel married King Leo I of Armenia.

First dynasty

  • Manasses I
  • Manasses II (?–1032)
  • Manasses III (1032–1056)
  • Hugh I (1065–1118)
  • Gervais (1118–1124)
  • Matilda (1124–1151)

Second dynasty

  • Odo of Vitry (1124–1158; married Matilda of Rethel)
  • Ithier (1158–1171)
  • Manasses III (1171–1199)
  • Hugh II (1199–1227)
  • Hugh III (1227–1242)
  • John (1242–1251)
  • Walter (1251–1262)
  • Manasses IV (1262–1272)
  • Hugh IV (1272–1285)
  • Joan (1285–1328)

Dampierre dynasty

Burgundian dynasty

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from