County of the City of Coventry

County Of The City Of Coventry

County of the City of Coventry

to get instant updates about 'County Of The City Of Coventry' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The County of the City of Coventry was a former English county, (officially a County corporate) which existed between 1451 and 1842.

The county covered an area of around and contained the city of Coventry and the surrounding villages of Ansty, Asthull, Biggin, Binley, Caludon, Exhall, Foleshill, Harnell, Horwell, Radford, Stoke, Styvechale, Walsgrave, Wood End and Wyken.


Coventry was originally a part of the county of Warwickshire. However during the medieval period Coventry became an important city in its own right.

King Henry VI granted Coventry the status of a county in itself, largely to reward the city for the support it had given him. This county status enabled Coventry to control its own assize and gaol, and the city's bailiffs became sheriffs – officers to the king. Coventry remained a separate county until disputes over ratings with the villages which formed the county resulted in its abolition by the Coventry Act 1842 (5 & 6 Vict. c.110). The Act provided that from November 9, 1842 the City and County of the City of Coventry shall... be taken to be in all respects Part of the County of Warwick , and within the Hundred of Knightlow. As well as re-merging Coventry with Warwickshire, the legislation resolved the Doubts which now prevail respecting the Boundary of the said City, by firmly setting the municipal limits.

The county covered an area similar to that covered by the modern city. Apart from Ansty and Exhall, all of...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from