County of Tyrol

County Of Tyrol

Former Country
Former Country Less

County of Tyrol

to get instant updates about 'County Of Tyrol' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The County of Tyrol, Princely County from 1504, was a State of the Holy Roman Empire, from 1814 a province of the Austrian Empire and from 1867 a Cisleithanian crown land (Kronland) of Austria-Hungary. Today its territory is divided between the Italian region of Trentino-Alto Adige/S├╝dtirol, a small part of the Italian region of Veneto (Cortina d'Ampezzo and other villages) and the Austrian state of Tyrol. Both regions are today associated again in the Euroregion Tyrol-South Tyrol-Trentino.


Birth of Tyrol

In 1027 Emperor Conrad II split off the Bishopric of Trent from the former Lombard Kingdom of Italy. He attached it to the stem duchy of Bavaria, which was then under the rule of his son Henry III.

From the 12th century on, the counts residing in Castle Tyrol near Merano held the office of Vogt (bailiff) in the Trent diocese and also in the Bishopric of Brixen. They extended their territory over much of the region and came to surpass the power of the bishops, who were nominally their feudal lords. After the deposition of Henry X the Proud as Bavarian duke in 1138, the Counts of Tyrol strengthened their independence from Bavaria under his son Henry the Lion. When the House of Welf was again enfeoffed with the Bavarian duchy by Emperor Frederick Barbarossa at the 1154 Reichstag of Goslar, her possessions no longer comprised the Tyrolean lands. The Counts maintained that independence under the rising Bavarian Wittelsbach dynasty.


In 1253...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Former Country
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from