Croker Island (Northern Territory)

Croker Island (Northern Territory)

Islands Less

Croker Island (Northern Territory)

to get instant updates about 'Croker Island (Northern Territory)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Croker Island is an island in the Arafura Sea off the coast of the Northern Territory, Australia, 200 km northeast of Darwin. It is separated from Cobourg Peninsula in the west by Bowen Strait, which is 2.5 km wide in the south and up to 7 km in the north, and 8.5 km long. In the north and east is the Arafura Sea, and in the south and southeast Mountnorris Bay. Croker Island measures 43 km from Point David (south, local name Inngirnatj) to Cape Croker (north), up to 15 km wide, and has an area of 331.5 kmĀ² (128.0 sq. miles). At its highest point it is only 15 m (50 feet) above sea level. The only notable settlement on Croker Island is the Aboriginal community of Minjilang, located on Mission Bay on the east coast. Apart from that, there are nine small family outstations, the largest ones of which is Inngirnatj (Point David) at the southern end of the island. The settlements from north to south:

  1. Alamirra (close to Somerville Bay 1.5 km further the north)
  2. Timor Springs (north of Minjilang, 8 km by road)
  3. Wanakutja (on Palm Bay in the northwest)
  4. Minjilang (Mission Bay), the only village and main settlement of the island
  5. Adjamarrago (800 meters north of Croker Island Aerodrome, west of Minjilang)
  6. Keith William's Outstation (Arrgamumu, Arrgamurrmur) (southeast of Mission Bay)
  7. Walka (Barge Landing) (south side of Mission Bay, with barge pier)
  8. Sandy Bay (close to Sandy Bay on the east coast, but two......
  9. ...

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from