Democratic Progressive Alliance

Democratic Progressive Alliance

Democratic Progressive Alliance

to get instant updates about 'Democratic Progressive Alliance' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Democratic Progressive Alliance is an alliance of Indian political parties formed by the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) in 2004.

Current constituents

The DPA consists of the DMK, Indian National Congress, Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi, Indian Union Muslim League and the Moovendra Makkal Kazhagam.


The Left parties defacted to the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK)-led front in 2008 after it withdrew support to the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance coalition in the Centre.

The Pattali Makkal Katchi withdrew support in 2008 over differences with the DMK but it still remained in the Congress-led UPA in the Centre. But after differences of seat sharing before the 15th Lok Sabha, it withdrew support to the UPA also and crossed over to the AIADMK-led front.

The Manthaneya Makkal Katchi was formed in 2009 by the Tamil Nadu Muslim Munnetra Kazhagam and immediately joined the DPA. But before the Lok Sabha elections, its demand for two Lok Sabha seats and one Rajya Sabha seat was turned down by the DMK who offered them a lone Lok Sabha seat. The MMK withdrew from the DPA and as of now tied up with small parties like actor Sarath Kumar-led Akila Indiya Samathuva Makkal Katchi, the Puthiya Tamilzhagam and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) (which does not much presence in in the state).

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from