Department of Space

Department Of Space

Department of Space

to get instant updates about 'Department Of Space' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Department of Space (DoS) is an Indian government department responsible for administration of the Indian space program.

The Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) is the primary research and development arm of the DoS. The other agencies of the Department of Space (DOS) include the Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), National Atmospheric Research Laboratory (NARL), North Eastern Space Applications Centre (NE-SAC) and the Semi-Conductor Laboratory (SCL).

The Indian Space programme under the DoS aims to promote the development and application of space science and technology for the socio-economic benefit of the country. It includes two major satellite systems, INSAT for communication, television broadcasting and meteorological services, and Indian Remote Sensing Satellites (IRS) system for resources monitoring and management. It has also developed two satellite launch vehicles, Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) and Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV), to place IRS and INSAT class satellites in orbit.


In 1961, the Government of India entrusted the responsibility for space research and for the peaceful use of outer space to the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), then under the leadership of Dr. Homi J. Bhabha. In 1962, the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) set up Indian National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR), with Dr. Vikram Sarabhai as Chairman, to...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from