Department of State (Ireland)

Department Of State (Ireland)

Department of State (Ireland)

to get instant updates about 'Department Of State (Ireland)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

A Department of State () of Ireland, is a department or ministry of the Government of Ireland. The head of such a department is a Minister of the Government (), often called a 'cabinet minister' or 'government minister' which should not be confused with Minister of State which is a junior non-cabinet minister who is attached to a Department of State and assists a Minister of the Government.

The law regarding the Departments of State and Ministers of the Government is detailed in the Ministers and Secretaries Act 1924 and amendments. The Constitution of Ireland also has significant legal effect on functions and structures.


There are fifteen individual Departments of State in the Irish Government. Each Department is led by a Minister of the Government, who is appointed by the President on the nomination of the Taoiseach and approval of Dáil Éireann, and cover matters that require direct political oversight. For all Departments, the Minister in question is simply known as Minister for... and is a member of the Cabinet, a cabinet level minister without a department is called a Minister without portfolio but currently there is none of such standing. A Minister of the Government is generally supported by a team of junior ministers, officially called Ministers of State, and may delegate powers to such officials in accordance with law.

The Minister of the Government has the power to suggest and propose new or amended legislation to the Government relating to matters that...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from