Dhaka District

Dhaka District

Bangladesh District
Bangladesh District Less

Dhaka District

to get instant updates about 'Dhaka District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Dhaka District (, Ḑhaka Jela) is a district located in central Bangladesh. It is a part of the Dhaka Division. Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh, rests on the eastern banks of the Buriganga River which flows from the Turag to the south of the district. While Dhaka (city) occupies only about a fifth of the area of Dhaka district, it is the economic, political and cultural centre of the district and the country as a whole.


Dhaka District shares borders with Gazipur and Tangail to the north, Munshiganj and Rajbari to the south, Narayanganj to the east and Manikganj to the west. Main rivers flowing through this district are Padma, Kaliganga, Dhaleshwari, Ichamati, Shitalakshya, Buriganga and numerous smaller rivers including Bangshi, Turag, Balu, Elamjani, Alam, Bherujkha, Ramkrishnadi, Elisamari, Tulsikhali. Major lakes ("beels") include Belai, Saldaher, Labandaher, Churain, Damsharan and Kiranjir Beel. Annual average temperature of the district is maximum 34.5°C, minimum 11.5°C; average annual rainfall 1931mm.


Dhaka district consists of several thanas (literally "police station", referring to the district or precinct covered by a police station) under Dhaka municipal area as well as five (5) upazilas ("sub-district"). For administrative purposes, a thana and a upazila are essentially identical. The five upazilas in Dhaka district not part of the city are:

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Bangladesh District
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from