Diocese of Aberdeen and Orkney

Diocese Of Aberdeen And Orkney

Diocese Less

Diocese of Aberdeen and Orkney

to get instant updates about 'Diocese Of Aberdeen And Orkney' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Diocese of Aberdeen and Orkney is one of the seven dioceses of the Scottish Episcopal Church. In mainland Scotland, the diocese covers the City of Aberdeen and most of Aberdeenshire (the part of Aberdeenshire south of Aberdeen is in the Diocese of Brechin, and some parts of northwest Aberdeenshire are in the Diocese of Moray, Ross and Caithness). In addition to the mainland portion of the diocese, the Orkney and Shetland island groups also come under its jurisdiction. It shares with the Roman Catholic Diocese of Aberdeen a Christian heritage that can be traced back to the twelfth century. It also incorporates the ancient Diocese of Orkney, founded in 1035.

The diocese has a strong companion link with the Episcopal Diocese of Connecticut and the Episcopal Church in the United States of America. Samuel Seabury, the first Episcopal bishop outside of the British Isles, was consecrated in 1784 by Robert Kilgour, Bishop of Aberdeen, and John Skinner, coadjutor bishop. Clarence Coleridge, suffragan bishop of Connecticut, was consecrated by a bishop of Aberdeen in 1981. Coleridge was elected 13th diocesan bishop of Connecticut in 1993.

The current Bishop, Dr Robert (Bob) Gillies, was consecrated in Winter 2007, and the current Dean, Canon Dr Emsley Nimmo, was licensed on 20 April 2008, at St. Andrew's Cathedral, Aberdeen.


Below is a list of modern, non-papal bishops of Aberdeen and Orkney. The earliest bishops of these dioceses as well did not recognize the later...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from