Diocese of Derby

Diocese Of Derby

Diocese Less

Diocese of Derby

to get instant updates about 'Diocese Of Derby' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Diocese of Derby is a Church of England diocese in the Province of Canterbury, roughly covering the same area as the County of Derbyshire. Its diocesan bishop is the Bishop of Derby who has his seat at Derby Cathedral. He is assisted by the Suffragan Bishop of Repton.

The Diocese of Derby contains two archdeaconries: the Archdeaconry of Derby and the Archdeaconry of Chesterfield. The former archdeaconry is divided into the deaneries of Ashbourne, Derby North, Derby South, Duffield, Erewash, Heanor, Longford, Melbourne, and Repton, and the latter into the deaneries of Alfreton, Bakewell and Eyam, Bolsover and Staveley, Buxton, Chesterfield, Glossop, and Wirksworth.

The Archdeaconry of Derby was originally part of the Diocese of Lichfield, but was moved to form part of the Diocese of Southwell when that diocese was created in 1884. In 1927 the archdeaconries of Derby and Chesterfield became the Diocese of Derby.Youngs Local Administrative Units of England


External links

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from