Diocese of Medak

Diocese Of Medak

Diocese Less

Diocese of Medak

to get instant updates about 'Diocese Of Medak' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Diocese of Medak is one of the 22 dioceses of the Anglican Church of South India.

Geography and history

The diocese of Medak is one of the largest dioceses in the Christian world, including five revenue districts of the Telangana region of Andhra Pradesh state: Adilabad, Medak, Nizamabad, Rangareddy and Hyderabad.

The diocese traces its history to its first bishop Frank Whittaker, who laid the foundation for the bishopric's administrative organisational structure just prior to the independence of India. The diocese was formed on 3 October 1947 and today the diocese is headed by Whittaker's successor, the present-day Bishop of Medak, who has his seat in Medak Cathedral.

Bishop of Medak

The Bishop of Medak oversees the diocese of Medak. Due to the diocese comparatively late date of foundation in 1947, its list of bishops is short when viewed next to the ancient dioceses of the Anglican Communion.

  1. Frank Whittaker 1947–1960
  2. Eber Priestley 1961–1967
  3. H. D. L. Abraham 1968–1975
  4. B. G. Prasada Rao 1976–1981
  5. P. Victor Premasagar 1982–1992
  6. B. P. Sugandhar 1992-2008
  7. P.Surya Prakash 2008-2009
  8. Samuel Kanaka Prasad 2009-


External links

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from