Diocese of Oslo

to get instant updates about 'Diocese Of Oslo' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Oslo bishopric is The Church of Norway's bishopric for the municipalities of Oslo, Asker and Bærum. It is one of Norway's five traditional bishoprics and was founded around the year 1070.


Oslo was established as a diocese in 1068. It was originally a suffragan of the archdiocese of Hamburg-Bremen, from 1104 on of that of Lund and starting from 1152 on of Nidaros. It then covered the (modern) counties of Oslo, Akershus, Buskerud (except Hallingdal), Hedmark (except the northern part of Østerdalen), Oppland (except Valdres), Telemark, Vestfold and Østfold, and the province of Bohuslän, and the parishes of Idre and Särna.

The Diocese of Hamar was established and separated from Oslo in 1152, but it was again merged with Oslo in 1541 (together with the northern part of Østerdalen from Diocese of Nidaros). The regions of Hallingdal and Valdres were transferred from Diocese of Stavanger to Oslo in 1631. (But Oslo had to give the upper part of Telemark to Stavanger in return.) The parishes of Idre and Särna were lost to Sweden in 1644, and the province of Bohuslän was lost in 1658. Hamar (with Hedmark and Oppland) was again separated from Oslo in 1864. The rest of Telemark was transferred to Diocese of Kristiansand (see Diocese of Agder og Telemark) the same year. The Diocese of Tunsberg (with Vestfold and Buskerud) was established and separated from Oslo in 1948. The Diocese of Borg (with Akershus and Østfold) was established and separated from Oslo in 1969.

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from