Diocese of Southwell and Nottingham

Diocese Of Southwell And Nottingham

Diocese Less

Diocese of Southwell and Nottingham

to get instant updates about 'Diocese Of Southwell And Nottingham' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Diocese of Southwell and Nottingham is a Church of England diocese in the Province of York. It is headed by the Bishop of Southwell and Nottingham. The diocese covers all of the English county of Nottinghamshire and part of South Yorkshire. The cathedral (Southwell Minster) is at Southwell, a small town.


Until 2005 the diocese was named simply after Southwell; but in February of that year the diocesan synod voted to request a name change, which was approved by the General Synod of the Church of England in July and by the Privy Council on 15 November 2005.

The diocese's present territory was originally the "Archdeaconry of Nottingham" in the Diocese of York, before being moved in 1837 to the Diocese of Lincoln (thereby switching from the Province of York to the Province of Canterbury). In 1884 it was taken from Lincoln and united with the archdeaconry of Derby (covering, roughly, Derbyshire), taken from the Diocese of Lichfield, to form the new Diocese of Southwell, which covered Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire.London Gazette. February 5, 1884. The Diocese of Derby became independent in 1927; Southwell and Nottingham is once again in the Province of York. Young's Local Administrative Units of England

List of churches in the diocese

Closed church in italics

See also


External links

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from