Division of Bendigo

Division Of Bendigo

Australian Electorate
Australian Electorate Less

Division of Bendigo

to get instant updates about 'Division Of Bendigo' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Division of Bendigo is an Australian Electoral Division in Victoria. The division was created in 1900 and was one of the original 75 divisions contested at the first federal election. It is named for the city of Bendigo. In the early years of federation the seat consisted of little more than Bendigo itself, but on later boundaries the seat has included towns such as Echuca, Castlemaine, Maryborough and Seymour. Today it includes Bendigo, Castlemaine, Kyneton, Maldon, and Maryborough. Bendigo has always been a marginal seat, changing hands regularly between the Australian Labor Party and the conservative parties. Bendigo has had 15 members, the second-highest number (with Denison) of any federal electorate. Its most notable members have been its first member, Sir John Quick, who was a leading federalist, and Prime Minister Billy Hughes, who although from Sydney represented Bendigo for two terms at a time when the federal Parliament met in Melbourne. John Brumby, who held the seat from 1983 to 1990, later became Premier of Victoria.


Election results


  • , Australian Electoral Commission

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Australian Electorate
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from