Division of Maribyrnong

Division Of Maribyrnong

Australian Electorate
Australian Electorate Less

Division of Maribyrnong

to get instant updates about 'Division Of Maribyrnong' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Division of Maribyrnong is an Australian Electoral Division in the state of Victoria. It is located in the north-western suburbs of Melbourne. It covers the suburbs of Moonee Ponds, Essendon, Niddrie, Keilor East, Avondale Heights, Tullamarine, Airport West, Sunshine and Brooklyn. Due to redistributions, the Division has been slowly moving west. It originally covered the suburbs of Footscray and North Melbourne. According to the 2006 census, this electorate has the highest proportion of Catholics in any Commonwealth Electoral Division in Australia with 44.4% of population.

The Division was proclaimed at the redistribution of 13 July 1906, and was first contested at the 1906 Federal election. The Division was named after the Maribyrnong River, which runs through it. The Division is currently a safe Labor seat. The sitting member, former National Secretary of the Australian Workers Union, Bill Shorten, was elected at the 2007 election.


Election results


  • , Australian Electoral Commission

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Australian Electorate
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from