Doncaster Cup

to get instant updates about 'Doncaster Cup' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Doncaster Cup is a Group 2 flat horse race in Great Britain which is open to thoroughbreds aged three years or older. It is run at Doncaster over a distance of 2 miles and 2 furlongs (3,621 metres), and it is scheduled to take place each year in September.


The event was established in 1766, and it was originally called the Doncaster Gold Cup. It is the venue's oldest surviving race – it pre-dates the St. Leger Stakes by ten years. It was initially held at Cantley Common, and it moved to its present location in 1776.

During the early part of its history the race was contested over 4 miles. This was shortened to 2 miles and 5 furlongs in 1825. The first period over its current distance began in 1891. It was cut by a furlong in 1908, and then restored to 2 miles and 2 furlongs in 1927.

The present system of race grading was launched in 1971, and for a time the Doncaster Cup was classed at Group 3 level. It was promoted to Group 2 status in 2003.

The Doncaster Cup is one of Britain's leading events for "stayers" – those horses which specialise in racing over long distances. It is the final leg of the Stayers' Triple Crown, preceded by the Gold Cup and the Goodwood Cup. The race is now held on day three of Doncaster's four-day St. Leger Festival.


<span style="font-size:90%">
  • Note: The jockeys and trainers of some of the early winners are unknown.

Most successful horse (4 wins):
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from