Dudley Hewitt Cup

Dudley Hewitt Cup

Dudley Hewitt Cup

to get instant updates about 'Dudley Hewitt Cup' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Dudley Hewitt Cup is a championship ice hockey trophy, won by tournaments conducted by the Canadian Junior Hockey League. The trophy was first awarded in 1979. The winner of the Dudley Hewitt Cup competes at the 2011 Royal Bank Cup.


The trophy is named after George Dudley and W. A. Hewitt, two pioneers of amateur hockey in Ontario.

The first Dudley Hewitt Cup was awarded in 1971 to the Detroit Jr. Red Wings of the Southern Ontario Junior A Hockey League. They were the first American team to win an Ontario Hockey Association championship, and never since has an American team won the title. For some time the champions of the Central Junior A Hockey League, the Quebec Provincial League, and the Thunder Bay Junior A Hockey League competed for the Dudley. From 1984 until 1995 the Thunder Bay Flyers of the United States Hockey League competed as well, possibly the most successful competition in the event's history with 5 titles in 12 years.

The 2002 Dudley Hewitt Cup marked a new chapter in Ontario hockey history. Since the mid-1990s, the OPJHL and NOJHL had squared off in a head-to-head series to determine the Central Canadian seed in the Royal Bank Cup. In 2001, a new Thunder Bay-area league, called the Superior International Junior Hockey League, was founded. Late in the 2001-02 season of the OPJHL and NOJHL, the CJAHL informed them that instead of a series the Dudley would be competed for through a round robin format. The NOJHL and OPJHL decided to protest...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from