Dunedin South

to get instant updates about 'Dunedin South' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Dunedin South is a New Zealand Parliamentary electorate.


As the name suggests, it is based on the southern suburbs of Dunedin. It stretches out westwards to take in towns on the Taieri Plains such as Mosgiel, Green Island and Fairfield. The Otago Peninsula is also in the electorate.

The new Dunedin South was created in 1996 as one of the original 65 MMP electorates, as a merger between St Kilda and a large part of Dunedin West. It has been enlarged at every boundary review since its creation and at the 2008 election included Middlemarch.


The city of Dunedin is a New Zealand Labour Party stronghold; The last National MP elected from a Dunedin constituency was Richard Walls in 1975.

Clare Curran became the MP in the 2008 election. Former social development minister David Benson-Pope was the MP for Dunedin South from 1999 to 2008. Before Benson-Pope, Finance minister Michael Cullen represented the area for three years. Cullen was also the MP for the former St Kilda seat between 1981 and 1996.

The first Dunedin South electorate 1881–90 was represented by two MPs:

The later Dunedin South 1905–46 was...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from