East Coast Main Trunk Railway

East Coast Main Trunk Railway

Rail Line
Rail Line Less

East Coast Main Trunk Railway

to get instant updates about 'East Coast Main Trunk Railway' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates


The East Coast Main Trunk Railway is a railway line in the North Island of New Zealand, originally running between Hamilton and Taneatua via Tauranga, connecting the Waikato with the Bay of Plenty. The ECMT now runs between Hamilton and Kawerau, with a branch line to Taneatua from the junction at Hawkens. The line is built to narrow gauge of 1067 mm (3 ft 6 in), the uniform gauge in New Zealand.



In 1880, the North Island Main Trunk Railway had reached Frankton, Hamilton, from Auckland. From there, the line made its way to Morrinsville in October 1884, Te Aroha in March 1886 and Paeroa in 1898. The route to Waihi through the Karangahake Gorge was surveyed in the next few years with construction starting in 1900, with three bridges, including a road-rail bridge and a kilometre-long tunnel, which has a 1:50 grade and took three years to build, being completed in 1904. The line between Paeroa and Waihi opened in November 1905. Surveys were undertaken for the route beyond Waihi in 1907 and construction started in March 1912, but was suspended in November of the same year. The work started again in 1914, but was suspended again in March 1917 because of a shortage of staff due to World War I. The works started again in 1918, and the railway through the Athenree Gorge opened to Tahawai in 1925 and Tauranga in March 1925. The remaining length of line to Te Puke, Whakatane and Taneatua opened in 1928.

Original Intention of the rail...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Rail Line
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from