East Yorkshire (UK Parliament constituency)

East Yorkshire (UK Parliament Constituency)

UK ConstituencyMain
UK ConstituencyMain

East Yorkshire (UK Parliament constituency)

to get instant updates about 'East Yorkshire (UK Parliament Constituency)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

East Yorkshire is a county constituency represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. It elects one Member of Parliament (MP) by the first past the post system of election.


East Yorkshire constituency covers the northern part of the East Riding of Yorkshire unitary authority from Pocklington and Market Weighton through Driffield to Bridlington. It corresponds to the former East Yorkshire district.

For the 2010 general election minor boundary changes affected the constituency. The civil parish of Middleton on the Wolds was transferred to the Beverley and Holderness constituency while Brandesburton was gained from the Beverley and Holderness constituency.


This safe Conservative seat was created in 1997, replacing the former constituency of Bridlington. The MP for that seat since 1979, John Townend, won the new seat, and held it until he retired in 2001. His successor, the current incumbent Greg Knight, had previously represented the marginal seat of Derby North from 1983 until he was defeated in the Labour landslide in 1997.

Members of Parliament


Elections in the 2010s

Elections in the 2000s

Elections in the 1990s

See also

Notes and references

<!--added above categories/infobox footers by script-assisted edit-->

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


UK Constituency Main
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from