Eastern District, Upper Canada

Eastern District, Upper Canada

Eastern District, Upper Canada

to get instant updates about 'Eastern District, Upper Canada' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Eastern District was one of four districts of the Province of Quebec created in 1788 in the western reaches of the Montreal District and partitioned in 1791 to create the new colony of Upper Canada. Known as Lunenburg District until 1792, it was abolished in 1849. The district seat was in New Johnstown (present day Cornwall, Ontario) .

The district was originally bounded to the west by a line running north from the mouth of the Gananoque River and to the east by Lower Canada. The district town was New Johnstown, later renamed Cornwall. In 1798, the district was reorganized to consist of the counties of: At the same time, the counties of: were separated from this district to form the Johnstown District.

In 1816, Ottawa District was created by splitting off the counties of Prescott and Russell from this district.

In 1849, the district was replaced by the United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry.

See also


  • Armstrong, Frederick H. Handbook of Upper Canadian Chronology. Toronto : Dundurn Press, 1985. ISBN 0-919670-92-X

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from