Eastern Shore League

Eastern Shore League

Eastern Shore League

to get instant updates about 'Eastern Shore League' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Eastern Shore Baseball League was a Class D minor league baseball league that operated on the Delmarva Peninsula for parts of three different decades. The league's first season was in 1922 and the last was in 1949, although the years were not consecutive, and featured teams from Maryland, Delaware, and Virginia. The first incarnation lasted from 1922 to mid-1928 (disbanded in July), the second from 1937-41, and the third from 1946-49. Though the level of play was competitive and many future major leaguers would gain experience in the ESBL, funding the league remained a constant problem for the rural franchises.

Host cities

Future major leaguers who played in the ESBL include notables such as: Frank "Home Run" Baker, Mickey Cochrane, Jimmie Foxx, Mickey Vernon, and Don Zimmer.

The Eastern Shore Baseball League by William Mowbray (1989) remains the most comprehensive source for ESBL history.

The Eastern Shore Baseball Hall of Fame at Arthur W. Perdue Stadium in Salisbury, Maryland, pays homage to ESBL players and locals who made the major leagues. Perdue Stadium is the home of the Class A Delmarva Shorebirds, an Orioles farm team.

Mike Lambert has published the Eastern Shore League with Arcadia Publishing in April 2010.

See also

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from