Eastern States Agency

Eastern States Agency

Eastern States Agency

to get instant updates about 'Eastern States Agency' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Eastern States Agency was an administrative unit of British India. The agency was created on 1 April 1933. This agency was composed of 42 princely states in eastern India, located in the present-day Indian states of Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Orissa, West Bengal, and Tripura. Before the creation of the Eastern States Agency in 1933, 23 states of the erstwhile Orissa Tributary States and Chhota Nagpur States were under the authority of the British provinces of Bihar and Orissa and 16 states were under the authority of Central Provinces and Berar. Cooch Behar and Tripura were transferred from Bengal Province to the Eastern States Agency on 1 November 1936. It was placed under the control of the Agent to the Governor General and two Political Agents were placed at Sambalpur and Raipur under his supervision.

On 1 December 1944 the status of this agency was raised to that of a first class residency. These states were grouped into three political agencies, under the "Resident" in Calcutta. The headquarters of the Orissa States Agency was at Sambalpur, the headquarters of the Chhattisgarh States Agency was at Raipur and the headquarters of the Bengal States Agency was at Calcutta. After the Indian independence in 1947, the states acceded to the Government of India, and were integrated into the Indian states of Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal and Orissa. The eastern portion of Madhya Pradesh and the southern portion of Bihar became the states of......
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from