Edinburgh Central (UK Parliament constituency)

Edinburgh Central (UK Parliament Constituency)

UK ConstituencyMain
UK ConstituencyMain

Edinburgh Central (UK Parliament constituency)

to get instant updates about 'Edinburgh Central (UK Parliament Constituency)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Edinburgh Central was a burgh constituency of the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom (at Westminster) from 1885 to 2005. It elected one Member of Parliament (MP) by the first past the post system of election.

In 1999, a Scottish Parliament constituency was created with the same name and boundaries, and continues in use. See Edinburgh Central .

From 1925 until 1999, the Member of Parliament for the Westminster constituency was an ex officio member of the Board of Trustees of the National Library of Scotland. Since 1999, that role has been taken by the Member of the Scottish Parliament for the Scottish Parliament constituency.


The Redistribution of Seats Act 1885 provided that the constituency was to consist of the Municipal Wards of St. Giles, George Square, and St. Leonard, except so much as is comprised in the Edinburgh East Division (being the part to the north of a line drawn along the centres of East and West Richmond Streets).

In 1918 the constituency consisted of the "George Square, St. Giles' and St. Leonard's Municipal Wards of Edinburgh."

"George Square, Holyrood, St Giles" was the description of the Central seat between 1950 and 1955, following the Representation of the People Act, 1948 Boundary Commission for...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


UK Constituency Main
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from