Edinburgh Leith (UK Parliament constituency)

Edinburgh Leith (UK Parliament Constituency)

UK ConstituencyMain
UK ConstituencyMain

Edinburgh Leith (UK Parliament constituency)

to get instant updates about 'Edinburgh Leith (UK Parliament Constituency)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Edinburgh Leith was a burgh constituency of the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom from 1950 to 1997. It elected one Member of Parliament (MP) by the first past the post system of election.

There was also an earlier Leith constituency, 1918 to 1950, and a yet earlier Leith Burghs constituency, 1832 to 1918.


1950 to 1955

The constituency was first defined by the House of Commons Act 1949, and first used in the 1950 general election, as one of seven constituencies covering the city of Edinburgh and the Midlothian burgh of Musselburgh.As per Boundaries of Parliamentary Constituencies 1885-1972 (ISBN 0-900178-09-4), F. W. S. Craig, 1972<br> Craig published ahead of the February 1974 general election, but he knew the outcome of the Second Periodical Review, which concluded in 1969 The other six constituencies were Edinburgh Central, Edinburgh East, Edinburgh North, Edinburgh Pentlands, Edinburgh South, and Edinburgh West, and the rest of the county of Midlothian was covered by the Midlothian and Peebles constituency, which also covered the county of Peebles.<ref...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


UK Constituency Main
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from