Edward Eggleston

to get instant updates about 'Edward Eggleston' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Edward Eggleston (December 10, 1837 – September 3, 1902) was an American historian and novelist.


Eggleston was born in Vevay, Indiana, to Joseph Cary Eggleston and Mary Jane Craig. As a child, he was too ill to regularly attend school, so his education was primarily provided by his father. He became an ordained Methodist minister in 1856. He wrote a number of tales, some of which, especially the "Hoosier" series, attracted much attention. Among these are The Hoosier Schoolmaster, The Hoosier Schoolboy, The End of the World, The Faith Doctor, Queer Stories for Boys and Girls, and others.

His summer home, Owl's Nest, in Lake George, New York, eventually became his year-round home. Eggleston died there in 1902, at the age of 64. Owl's Nest was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1971.

Principal works

  • The Hoosier Schoolmaster 1871
  • The End of the World 1872
  • The Mystery of Metropolisville 1873
  • The Circuit Rider 1874
  • Roxy 1878
  • The Graysons 1888
  • The Faith Doctor 1891
  • Duffels (short stories) 1893
  • Mr. Blake's Walking Stick 1870
  • Tecumseh and the Shawnee Prophet 1878
  • Pocahontus and Powhatan 1879
  • Montezuma 1880
  • The Hoosier Schoolboy 1883
  • Queer Stories for Boys and Girls 1884
  • Home History of...... ...
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from