Eighth Doctor Adventures

Eighth Doctor Adventures

Eighth Doctor Adventures

to get instant updates about 'Eighth Doctor Adventures' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Eighth Doctor Adventures (sometimes abbreviated as EDA or referred to as the EDAs) are a series of spin off novels based on the long running BBC science fiction television series Doctor Who and published under the BBC Books imprint. 73 books were published overall. Like all spin-off media, their canonicity in relation to the television series is open to interpretation.

Publication history

Between 1991 and 1997, Virgin Publishing had been producing a successful series of spin off novels under the New Adventures and Missing Adventures ranges. However, following the Doctor Who television movie which introduced the Eighth Doctor in 1996, the BBC did not renew Virgin Publishing's license to continue publishing Doctor Who material, instead opting to publish their own range. Virgin's last New Adventures novel, The Dying Days by Lance Parkin, featured the Eighth Doctor.

The first BBC Books release was a novelisation of the television movie (considered a standalone work by some), but the run of original Eighth Doctor Adventures began in 1997 with The Eight Doctors by Terrance Dicks and continued until 2005. It is unclear if the BBC line was originally intended to be a continuation of the continuity established in the New Adventures. However, as many of the writers for the Eighth Doctor Adventures had also written for the Virgin series, many elements from the New Adventures began to appear in both the EDAs and the PDAs (which replaced the Missing Adventures), and such continuity...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from