Elections in Djibouti

Elections In Djibouti

Elections in Djibouti

to get instant updates about 'Elections In Djibouti' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Elections in Djibouti gives information on election and election results in Djibouti.

Djibouti elects a head of state (the president) and a legislature at the national level. Until April 19, 2010, the president was elected for two six-year terms, until a change for the constitution was passed. Since then, there are no term limits, but the length of a term was reduced to five years. Also, candidates may not be older than 75 years old. The National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) has 65 members, 30 Somali (21 Issa, 3 Gadabuursi, 3 Isaaq and 3 Daarood) and 30 Afar, elected for a five year term in multi party election.

Djibouti is a one party dominant state with the People's Rally for Progress (RPP) in power. Opposition parties are allowed, but currently have no seats in the legislature.

2008 legislative elections

The opposition Union for a Presidential Majority (UMP) party boycotted the election, leaving all 65 seats to the ruling RPP. Voter turnout figures were disputed.

2005 Presidential election

On April 8, 2005, Ismail Omar Guelleh was re-elected for a second term as President of Djibouti. He won 100% of the ballots cast, and reportedly told Le Figaro that he regretted "having no opponent".

2003 Parliamentary election

1999 Presidential election

On April 9, 1999, Ismail Omar Guelleh,...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from