Elections in Mauritania

Elections In Mauritania

Elections in Mauritania

to get instant updates about 'Elections In Mauritania' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Prior to the coup d'état of August 2005, Mauritania was a one party dominant state with the Democratic and Social Republican Party in power. Opposition parties were allowed, but widely considered to have no real chance of gaining power.

Mauritania elects on national level a head of state - the president - and a legislature. Prior to 2006, the president was elected for a six year term by the people, with no term limits; following the constitutional referendum of June 2006, presidential terms are now five years, with a two-term limit and a maximum age limit of 75. The Parliament (Barlamane/Parlement) has two chambers. The National Assembly (Al Jamiya al-Wataniyah/Assemblée Nationale) has 81 members, elected for a five year term in single-seat constituencies. The Senate (Majlis al-Shuyukh/Sénat) has 56 members, 53 members elected for a six year term by municipal councillors with one third renewed every two years and 3 members elected by Mauritanians abroad.

Latest elections

2009 Presidential election

2007 Presidential election

2006 Parliamentary election

Parliamentary elections were held on November 19, 2006.

2007 Senate election

Past elections

See also

External links

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from