Elections in the Republic of Ireland

Elections In The Republic Of Ireland

Elections in the Republic of Ireland

to get instant updates about 'Elections In The Republic Of Ireland' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Republic of Ireland elects on national level a head of state — the president — and a legislature. The president is elected for a seven year term by Irish citizens resident in the state (see below).

Oireachtas Éireann (the national parliament) has two chambers:

Governments and elections have been dominated by two main parties, Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael. The electoral system provides for a form of proportional representation, with the consequence that coalition government has become the norm in recent decades. At present there are seven parties in the Oireachtas and a number of non-party representatives.

Eligibility to vote

Residents of the state who are Irish citizens or British citizens may participate in elections to the national parliament. Residents who are citizens of any EU state may vote in European Parliament election, while any resident, regardless of citizenship, may participate in local election.

Entitlement to vote, based on citizenship:

General election results since 1923

Irish general election,......
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from