Electoral region of South West

Electoral Region Of South West

Electoral region of South West

to get instant updates about 'Electoral Region Of South West' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The electoral region of South West is a multi-member electoral region of the Western Australian Legislative Council, located in the South West, Peel and part of the Great Southern regions of the state. It was created by the Acts Amendment (Electoral Reform) Act 1987, and became effective on 22 May 1989 with seven members who had been elected at the 1989 state election three months earlier. At the 2008 election, it was reduced to six members. The region includes the cities of Albany, Bunbury and Mandurah.


The Region is made up of several complete Legislative Assembly districts, which change at each distribution.


Distribution of seats


Since its creation, the electorate has had 17 members. Four of these members had previously been members of the Legislative Council—Beryl Jones (Lower West Province), Bill Stretch (Lower Central Province), Doug Wenn and Barry House (both South West Province).

Notes <!-- use numbering for individual people and alpha for table notes -->
Members serving for the 2009–2013 term were elected in 2008 but do not take their seats in Parliament until 22 May 2009.
next term of office
Paddy Embry was elected as a One Nation member, but resigned from the party on 15 May 2003 and sat as an independent. He later co-founded the New Country Party, and represented them in the Council towards the end of his term.


Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from