Emil Grunzweig Human Rights Award

Emil Grunzweig Human Rights Award

Award Less

Emil Grunzweig Human Rights Award

to get instant updates about 'Emil Grunzweig Human Rights Award' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Emil Grunzweig Human Rights Award is an award made annually by the Association for Civil Rights in Israel to "an individual or NGO that has made a unique contribution to the advancement of human rights in Israel". The award was established in 1981 but was renamed in 1983 after the murder of activist Emil Grunzweig by a grenade thrown by a right-wing sympathizer during a Peace Now demonstration against the war in Lebanon.

Winners of the award

Winners of the award have included: <!-- please feel free to correct the spelling of the names -->
1981 - Gabriel Stern, journalist for Al Hamishmar.
1982 - Yehuda Litani, Ha'aretz reporter in the occupied territories; special posthumous recognition to Dr. Robert Walsh, a Jewish journalist in Germany.
1983 - Lieutenant Colonel Dov Yirmiya, for his activities promoting the welfare of civilians in Lebanon; this was the year the award was first named after Emil Grunzweig.
1984 - Moshe Negbi, editor of the radio program "Din Udvarim".
1985 - Baruch Meiri, journalist for Ma'ariv.
1986 - Prof. Yitzhak Zamir, former legal advisor to the government.
1987 - High court justice Zvi Berenson.
1988 - Reporters in the occupied territories.<!--as a category?-->
1989 - Alice Shalvi, the founder of the Israel Women's Network.
1990 - Yitzhak Kadman, head of the National Council on Children's Welfare.
1991 - Dr. Lotta Saltzburger, <!-- probably misspelled-->a founder of the Hotline for Victims of Violence.

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from