Episcopal see of Carthage

Episcopal See Of Carthage

Episcopal see of Carthage

to get instant updates about 'Episcopal See Of Carthage' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

This is a list of the Roman Catholic Bishops and Archbishops of Carthage, often referred to as Primate of Proconsular Africa, Numidia, Tripolitania and Mauretania.

During the 3rd to the 7th century, the Bishop of Carthage has (unofficial) ecclesiastical primacy over these suffragan provinces in Northern Africa:

In the church as a whole, the Bishop of Carthage lay within the jurisdiction of the Bishop of Rome, what some call the Patriarchate of the West.

The episcopal see largely became titular after the 7th century when the Exarchate of Africa, a Byzantine territory, fell to the Arab invasion. From the 17th century Carthage was under an apostolic vicariate. This was suppressed in 1798 and was only restored in 1843.

In 1884 the see was restored with the rank of archdiocese, but in 1964 it was reduced to that of territorial prelature, with its name changed to "Tunis". In 1995 the prelature became a diocese, followed by its elevation to an archdiocese in 2010.

The present Archbishop of Tunis is Maroun Elias Lahham, since 2005.

Bishops, apostolic vicars, archbishops and prelates of the see

Bishops of Carthage

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from