Esztergom County

Esztergom County

Former Subdivision
Former Subdivision Less

Esztergom County

to get instant updates about 'Esztergom County' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Esztergom County (, , , ) was a historic administrative county of the Kingdom of Hungary in present-day southern Slovakia and northern Hungary on both sides of the Danube river.


Esztergom County shared borders with the counties (), , and (Komárno). Its territory comprised a 15 km strip to the west of the lower part of the Hron river and continued some 10 km south of the Danube river. Its area was 1077 km² around 1910.


The capital of the county was the Esztergom Castle and the town of Esztergom, then from 1543 onwards - when the territory became part of the Ottoman Empire - the capital was outside the county (e. g. 1605-1663 in Érsekújvár), and finally from 1714 onwards the capital was the town of Esztergom.


A predecessor of the county existed as early as in the 9th century, when Esztergom (called Ostrihom at that time) was one of the most important castles of Great Moravia. The Esztergom county as a comitatus arose at the end of the 10th century as one of the first comitatus of the Kingdom of Hungary. The county had a special status in that since 1270 its heads were at the same time the archbishops of Esztergom.

In the aftermath of World War I, the part of Esztergom county north of the Danube became part of newly formed Czechoslovakia, as recognized by the concerned states in the 1920 Treaty of Trianon. The southern part remained in Hungary and merged with the southern part of Komárom county to form......
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Former Subdivision
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from