European Golden Shoe

European Golden Shoe

European Golden Shoe

to get instant updates about 'European Golden Shoe' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The European Golden Shoe, formerly known as the European Golden Boot, is an association football award presented each season to the leading goalscorer in league matches from the top division of every European national league. From its inception in the 1967–68 season the award, originally called Soulier d'Or, which translates from French as Golden Shoe or Boot, was given by L'Équipe magazine to the top goalscorer in all European leagues that season.

Following a protest from the Cyprus FA where a player allegedly scored 40 goals, L'Équipe decided to make the competition unofficial until 1996; however, co-sponsors Adidas continued to present the award. The top scorer for the 1990–91 season, Darko Pančev, did not receive his award until 2006. It was reinstated in 1996 with different regulations. Since then, European Sports Magazines have awarded the Golden Shoe based on a points system that allows players in tougher leagues to win even if they score fewer goals than a player in a weaker league. With this modification goals are ranked differently between the leagues.


Between 1968 and 1991, the European Golden Boot, as it was then known, was given to the highest goalscorer in any European league. This was regardless of the toughness of the league in which the top scorer played and the number of games in which the player had taken part. During this period Eusébio, Gerd Müller, Dudu Georgescu and......
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from