Executive Committee Range

Executive Committee Range

Executive Committee Range

to get instant updates about 'Executive Committee Range' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Executive Committee Range is a range consisting of five major mountains, volcanic in origin, which trends north-south for 80 km (50 miles) along the 126th meridian west, in Marie Byrd Land, Antarctica.

Discovered by the United States Antarctic Service expedition on a flight, December 15, 1940, and named for the Antarctic Service Executive Committee. Individual mountains (e.g. Hampton, Waesche) are named in honor of members of the committee, except for Mount Sidley, the most imposing mountain in the range, which was discovered and named by Rear Admiral Byrd in 1934. The entire range was mapped in detail by USGS from surveys and U.S. Navy trimetrogon photography, 1958-60.

Mountains of this range include Mount Sidley, Mount Waesche and Mount Hampton.

Geological features

Mount Cumming

Mount Cumming () is a low, mostly snow-covered mountain, volcanic in origin, located midway between Mount Hampton and Mount Hartigan. A circular snow-covered crater occupies the summit area. Discovered by the U.S. Antarctic Service (USAS) (1939–41) on a flight, Dec. 15, 1940, and named for Hugh S. Cumming, Jr., State Department member of the U.S. Antarctic Service (USAS) Executive Committee. Mapped by U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) from surveys and U.S. Navy trimetrogon photography, 1958-60.

Mount Hartigan

Mount Hartigan () is a broad, mostly snow-covered mountain with several individually named...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from