Faridkot, Faridkot

Faridkot, Faridkot

Indian Jurisdiction
Indian Jurisdiction Less

Faridkot, Faridkot

to get instant updates about 'Faridkot, Faridkot' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Faridkot (; ) is a small city and a municipal council in Faridkot district in the state of Punjab, India.It's a division with headquarter at Faridkot consists of three Districts Faridkot, Bathinda and Mansa. There are 8 Sub Divisions, 8 Tehsils and 9 Sub-Tehsils within these Districts.Total area of the District is 1475.70 Sq. K.M.

Prior to independence large part of the district was under the princely rule of Maharaja of Faridkot and later it became part of the Patiala & East Punjab States Union (PEPSU ) in 1948. Faridkot was carved out as a separate district on 7 August 1972 out of the areas of Bathinda District (Faridkot Tehsil) and Firozpur District (Moga and Muktsar Tehsils). However in November 1995, the Faridkot District was trifurcated when two of its sub divisions viz Muktsar and Moga were given the status of independent districts.


It has been named after the great Sufi Saint Baba Sheik Fariduddin Ganjshakar, whose verses are mentioned in Guru Granth Sahib the holy book of Sikh religion.In 13th century,this town was founded by Raja Mokalsi, the grandson of Rai Munj, a Bhatti Chief of Rajasthan and named Mokalhar after his name. A famous Sufi Saint Hazrat Baba Sheikh Farid happened to pass through this town during the same time. Baba Farid was captured by the soldiers of Raja Mokalsi and put to bonded labour for the ongoing construction work of the fort at Faridkot. The basket full of earth while being carried by Baba Farid was seen floating over his...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Indian Jurisdiction
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from