Federal Court of Canada

Federal Court Of Canada

Federal Court of Canada

to get instant updates about 'Federal Court Of Canada' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Federal Court of Canada was a national court of Canada that heard some types of disputes arising under the central government's legislative jurisdiction. The Court — which is now defunct — consisted of two divisions, a Trial Division and an Appeal Division (commonly known as the Federal Court of Appeal).

The Court existed from 1971 to 2003 when it was split into two separate Courts, the Federal Court and the Federal Court of Appeal.

The 2003 change in structure was largely "technical" in that it did not change the powers of the court, or any of the judges or the way they are appointed, but just split the court into two separate courts. The Federal Court of Canada's enabling legislation, the Federal Court Act, was renamed the Federal Courts Act.


The Court consisted of a first-level trial court, known as the Federal Court of Canada – Trial Division, and an appellate Court, known as the Federal Court of Canada – Appeal Division (more commonly referred to as the Federal Court of Appeal).

The Trial Division had jurisdiction to hear judicial review of decisions of federal boards and tribunals, including most immigration matters, as well as jurisdiction in admiralty, intellectual property, and disputes involving the federal government.

The Appeal Division had jurisdiction to hear appeals of decisions of the Trial Division, as well as to determine applications for judicial review of decisions made by specific boards and tribunals, set...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from