Finsbury division

Finsbury Division

Historic Subdivision
Historic Subdivision Less

Finsbury division

to get instant updates about 'Finsbury Division' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Finsbury Division was one of four divisions of the Hundred of Ossulstone, in the county of Middlesex, England.The other divisions were named Holborn, Kensington and Tower. Ossulstone hundred was divided in the seventeenth century, with each of the four divisions replacing the hundred for most administrative purposes.


The division stretched from the boundary of the City of London north to the border between Middlesex and Hertfordshire. In 1899 the area, with the southern section becoming part of the new County of London, and the northern section remaining in Middlesex.

The area is now covered by three London Boroughs: Islington, parts of Barnet, Haringey, and Hackney.

Later use of the name "Finsbury"

Under the Reform Act 1832, part of the Division became the Parliamentary Borough of Finsbury. A smaller area became the Metropolitan Borough of Finsbury in 1900. The placename "Finsbury" now generally refers to part of the London Borough of Islington formerly the Metropolitan Borough.

Constituent parishes

The Finsbury Division contained the following "parishes, townships, precincts and places":

Inner Parishes (Included in the district of the......
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Historic Subdivision
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from