First Ontario Parliament Buildings

First Ontario Parliament Buildings

First Ontario Parliament Buildings

to get instant updates about 'First Ontario Parliament Buildings' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The first Ontario Parliament Buildings were built between 1829 and 1832 near Front, John, Simcoe and Wellington Streets in Toronto, Canada. Architects of the buildings were J.G. Chewett, Cumberland & Storm (firm), Samuel Curry, John Ewart, John Howard and Thomas Rogers. Alterations took place in 1849.The building later housed Upper Canada College and was demolished in 1903.

The buildings were originally the third constructed for the parliament of the province of Upper Canada, which sat in them from 1832–1841. In 1841, Upper Canada was absorbed into the Province of Canada, and its capital rotated among several locations. The buildings served as the seat of government for the new province at various times between 1849–1859.

When the province of Canada ceased to exist with the creation of Ontario at Confederation on July 1, 1867, Toronto was named the provincial capital, and these Front Street buildings were the first used by the Ontario legislature. Therefore, they are the province of Ontario's first parliament buildings, but not the first parliament buildings in present-day Ontario.The first parliament of Upper Canada met at Navy Hall in Newark, Upper Canada, now Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario. Subsequently, three parliament buildings were built for Upper Canada, this being the last.

The Front Street location served the Ontario legislature from Confederation until 1893, when grand new parliament buildings opened at Queen's Park.

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from